Fred Chatfield

LA Governor

Gary Middleton

Parent Governor
Vice Chair

Jenny Redhead

Ex officio governor

Nicola Hazzard

Staff Governor

Stephanie Devlin

Parent Governor

Paul Griffiths

Co opted Governor

Michael Ogden

Parent Governor
Vice Chair

Neil Bickerdike

Parent Governor

Robin Ham

Co opted Governor

The Construction of our Governing Body


Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards. School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. The role of the governing board is key to the effectiveness of a school.


The 3 core functions of a governing board are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.


Roose Community Primary School Governing Body Instrument of Government states that the body should consist of:

4 parent Governors

1 LA Governor

1 Staff Governor

1 Headteacher

3 co-opted Governors


The term of office for all categories of Governors is 4 years




© Copyright 2013–2022 Roose Community Primary School– View Privacy Notice

School & College Websites by Schudio